When a loved one is killed on the job it is devasting for a family. Not only have you lost a loved one, but also, a productive provider for your family. Our Fort Lauderdale on the job injury wrongful death lawyers understand your pain and and are here for you. Our goal is to see that you get the compensation you deserve for your family. We understand your loved one cannot be replaced. Your employers insurance company has an obligation to help you under Florida workers compensation law.
A Workplace Wrongful Death Is A Catastrophe
You have lost a loved one, spouse, and provider.
Yes, workplace accidents can be fatal. When a family loses a loved one in a workplace accident it is devastating.The family has lost a loved one and perhaps the sole support.
Compensation for Death under Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law
A work-related accident can result in wrongful death, which can leave the family wondering how they are going to pay the bills with the loss of income.
Fatal injuries that occur on the job
- Crane accidents
- Heavy machinery or equipment
- Dangerous work environments
- Falls from high places
- Muggings and attacks
- Negligence of other workers
- Trucking Accidents
- Asbestos and Mesothelioma
- Hazardous materials
- Oil rig explosions
- Heavy equipment failure
- Firemen fighting a fire
- Smoke inhalation
- Severe burns
- Auto accident
- Police killed in action
Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law For Wrongful Death
Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law provides benefits to the surviving spouse and/or dependents.
Under the law, if the death results within 1 year of the accident or follows continuous disability caused by the accident within 5 years, the employer must pay actual funeral expenses not exceeding $7,500. The employer is required to pay the funeral expenses within 14 days of receiving the bill. In addition, Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law requires employers to pay a percentage of the average weekly wages of the deceased worker. The amount paid should not be more than $150,000, but should also not exceed 66 2/3% of the average salary for all dependents or individuals entitled to compensation.
The amount in which surviving dependents are entitled is as follows:
• If the worker was married, but did not have children, the spouse should receive 50% of the average weekly salary.
• If the worker was married with children, the amount that must be paid includes 50% of the average weekly salary to the spouse and an additional 16 2/3% to the children.
• If the worker was not married, but had children, each child will receive 33 1/3% of the average weekly salary.
• The worker’s parents may receive 25% paid to each, during the continuance of dependency.
• Each dependent brother, sister and grandchild is entitled to 15% of the average weekly salary.
If you have lost a loved on due to an on the job injury call the workers compnsation lawyers of Injury Lawyer Newtwork